Indian government extends eTourist visa for 36 more countries

Seven more airports, including Varanasi and Ahmedabad, have been declared as entry points with an eTourist visa.

Besides Varanasi and Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow and Trichy have been declared as entry points for the eTourist visa, an official statement said.

The government has decided to extend the eTourist visa facility to 36 more countries, taking the total number of countries under the scheme up to 113. Among the countries that will benefit are the UK, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, Malaysia, Tanzania and Argentina.

Under the e-visa scheme, an applicant receives an email authorising him or her to travel to India. He or she then takes a print-out of this authorisation to the immigration authorities at the airport, who would then stamp the entry into the country.

India provides the eTourist visa facility to people who have passports from the following countries.
Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, China – SAR Hong Kong, China – SAR Macau, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam.