What is the symbol of Indian currency?

The Indian Rupee (INR) is the country's official currency. The Reserve Bank of India manages and controls the currency supply. The Hindi term rupaya is derived from the Sanskrit word Rupaya, which is derived from the noun rupa, which means "shape", "likeness", or "image." 

The visual depiction of the Indian rupee is offered, and the Indian rupee is accorded the maximum prominence and credit worldwide. This happened in 2010 when Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam's design for the rupee beat out over 3000 other submissions. 

These markings make Indian currency stand out from the crowd and distinguish it from comparable currencies like Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Indonesia. 

There are some interesting facts about Indian Rupee Symbol (₹)

  • The rupee's symbol is a combination of Devnagri Ra and Roman R, and the letters are taken from the words 'Rupiah' in 'Hindi' and Rupees in 'English'. 

  • The lines on the Symbol (horizontal) are known as Shrio Rekha, and they are a distinct element of the Devnagri Script. This element of the Indian alphabet is preserved in the Rupee sign. 

  • The sign consists of two horizontal lines separated by a little gap. This is done, however, to create a background of the tricolor, India's national flag. 

  • The two lines indicate the mathematical sign 'equal', which represents a balanced economy. 

  • The inventor, Udaya, developed the emblem while keeping other currency symbols in mind. It also seems to be a member of the symbol family while making its presence known.

Related Articles

View more Arrow