India changes name of visa on arrival to eVisa

India Airport

The Indian government changed the name of its new tourist visa programme as there was growing criticism that it was confusing.

The Indian visa on arrival that was rolled out to more countries late last year will now be called the eTourist visa.

From five countries in 2010, India expanded the programme to cover 44 nations, including the USA, Australia, Japan, Germany, Singapore and Russia. Sri Lanka has now been added to the list.

The requirements for an Indian tourist visa remain the same as outlined in the older programme.

Only nine Indian airports can handle passengers arriving with the new visa – including Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bangalore, Kochi, Goa and Thiruvananthapuram.

Related Articles